Get Renewed for 2022 ASAP!
All licenses and permits dated 12/31/2021 have expired.
This means, if you have not renewed YOU NO LONGER HOLD A LICENSE AND CANNOT PRACTICE OR HOLD OUT AS A CPA.
You must be in compliance with Minnesota rules and statutes to hold out or practice.
To renew for 2022, use the appropriate PDF form available in the "Forms" section of the website. Complete and mail in with your check or money order. (Only Inactive status renewing as Inactive can still use Online Services.)
If you wish to go Exempt or Retire, or are seeking Reactivation or Reinstatement, see the separate (not Renewal) forms for those statuses/processes in the "Forms" section of the website.
All late renewals or status changes now include a $50 delinquency fee, in addition to any license/permit fee.
Those earning and/or submitting CPE late also have CPE late fees. These accrue monthly, based on the postmarked date the Board receives your certificates of completion and fee. See the CPE chart below for details.
A special reminder to firm owners that 100% of Minnesota-licensed owners must be renewed by March 1, 2022, or the 2022 permit is REVOKED.
Meeting Notice: June 30
The Board's June 30, 2022, meeting will be held in Ste. 295. The Executive Committee will meet at 8:15 am and the full Board from 9:00 - 12:00 p.m.
New Executive Committee Elected
Each December the full Board elects a new Executive Committee. At the meeting on December 9, the Board elected Charles Selcer, CPA; Charles McElroy, CPA; and Godson Sowah, CPA; as Board Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer respectively.
Apply Now to Serve on the Board
Board members are appointed by the Governor of Minnesota to four-year terms. Board members must be a resident of Minnesota at the time of and throughout their appointment.
The following positions will be up for appointment with applications being accepted now: Certified Public Accountant (1).
See instructions on how to apply.
Beware of Email Phishing
The Minnesota Board has learned that a phishing message claiming to be from the Minnesota Board regarding "licensee fee changes" has been circulating. The Board sent no such message (and there are no fee increases). If received, follow the best practices at your firm for dealing with suspicious emails.
Get notices by email!
If you haven't already signed up for the Board's email communications (The Ledger eNews), do it today. No fear of email clutter: The Board only emails when significant Board-related news occurs or deadlines relevant to your licensure approach—such as renewals.
Subscribe to The Ledger
Continuing Professional Education Reporting Fee Chart
Either the left or the right fee column for any given year will apply. If you are noncompliant in more than one year; you owe the applicable fee for each year.
Examples (rates valid only for June 2022):
• Failed to complete CPE on time for 2021 renewal: Total: $325.
• Reported late for 2021 renewal but earned CPE in proper timeframe: Total: $175.
• Reported late for 2022 and 2021 renewals but earned CPE in proper timeframe: Total fee is $650.
|Reported CPE late but earned the CPE during the proper timeframe, use these columns:
||Failed to complete CPE in proper timeframe (and so also did not report it on time), use these columns:
|Failed to report CPE* by:
||Failed to complete CPE by**:
||Certificates of completion for only those hours earned after 6/30/2021* and required fees**
||Certificates of completion for only those hours earned after 9/30/20201* and required fees**
||Certificates of completion for only those hours earned after 6/30/2019* and required fees**
1 If you elected to claim the one-time FY20 CPE extension when you renewed for 2021.
* If claiming exception from CPE reporting under MN Rule 3500.3.D, you must claim the exception by the deadline or be subject to the same fees as those late reporting hours.
** If you completed CPE hours after the earning deadline(s), you must include copies of the certificates of completion for those hours.