

Status Change Fee: There is no

fee for electing exempt status, as long

If expired, you must submit the late

filing fee for each year you are out of

compliance by check or money order

(payable to Board of Accountancy),

along with this request form (see

chart below). Note that practicing

or holding out as a Minnesota CPA

enforcement action (MN Statutes

326A.10).

firm).

without a license may be grounds for

Firm Owners: You cannot be an owner

of a Minnesota sole proprietorship or

CPA firm if you do not hold an active

license. Prior to status change, sole

proprietors must notify the Board in writing of the dissolution of the firm;

CPA firms must notify the Board (see

MN Rules 1105.4100) of the ownership

change (or dissolution, if single-owner

as your current license has not expired.

EXEMPT STATUS ELECTION*

This form expires after December 31, 2025.

CPE Compliance: Your CPE must

be in order to request status change.

- If you are requesting status change after June 30, you must report qualifying CPE that meets the one-year and rolling 3-year requirement.
- If you did not earn all required CPE for the current CPE reporting period, you will need to:
 - Report through <u>Online Services</u> all CPE that was earned on time.
 - Earn the CPE, then provide certificates and the applicable carryback fee at the same time as you submit this form.

How to Submit: If no late filing fee or CPE carryback is required, you may email this form to boa@state.mn.us. Put "Exempt Election" and your current license number in the subject line.

If you are required to submit late filing or CPE noncompliance fee(s), you must send the fee(s) and this form together by mail. Fees and forms not submitted together will be returned. **Effective Date:** Your status change becomes effective the day the Board receives your correctly completed and qualifying request for election. As of that date, you must comply with the terms of the exempt statements (see form, item 4). Exempt status requires no renewal.

Verifying Your Status: To verify that your exempt status election was processed (or to view your existing license status and expiration date), use the Board's licensee lookup: boa.state.mn.us/FindCPA.html.

You will not otherwise receive notice of your exempt status change. Allow up to 10 business days before expecting to see the status change.

EXEMPT DELINQUENCY FEE CHART

If postmarked (or emailed, if no fee required) by 12/31/2025:

	12/31/2025	\$0
License	12/31/2024	\$50
Expiration*	12/31/2023	\$100
Date	12/31/2022	Add \$50 for each
	or prior	additional year.

* Revoked, suspended or surrendered licenses are ineligible for exempt status.

FOR OTHER STATUS CHANGES, USE THESE FORMS:

Changing to ACTIVE: <u>boa.state.mn.us/forms/</u> <u>StatusChangeActiveRequestForm.pdf</u> Changing to **RETIRED**: <u>https://boa.state.mn.us/</u> <u>forms/RetiredRequestForm.pdf</u>

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PRIVATE DATA

In accordance with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes §13.04, Subd. 2), the Board is required to inform you of your rights as they pertain to private data collected from you on this application. The data you furnish on the application will be used by the Board to assess your qualifications.

Minnesota Statutes §270C.72, Subd. 4 (2024) requires the Board to provide the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Revenue a list of all entities, including name, address, and Minnesota Tax ID number or FEIN, each calendar year for the purpose of identifying entities owing delinquent taxes. Until licensure is granted, all application data, except name and designated address, are private data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, Subd. 2 (2024). All data become public record when licensure is granted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, Subd. 5 (2024).

The Board will not share your private data with other persons or agencies unless it is required by law.



EXEMPT STATUS ELECTION FORM

Please review the instructions before completing. Include any applicable fees. This form expires after December 31, 2025.

1. **PERSONAL INFORMATION**

2.

3.

4.

Legal Name (First)	(Middle) (Last)	(Suffix)
Certificate #	Employer Name	
Home Phone	Work Phone	
Home Address	Work Address	
City	City	
State Zip	State Zip	
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you	u had a CPA certificate, license or	No
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you permit disciplined, denied, surr ELECTION TO BECOME EXEM	vide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.	No
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you permit disciplined, denied, surr	vide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.	No
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you permit disciplined, denied, surr ELECTION TO BECOME EXEM Read all statements and sign below. 1. I am not required to have an act	vide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.	No separate s
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you permit disciplined, denied, surr ELECTION TO BECOME EXEM Read all statements and sign below. 1. I am not required to have an act 2. I have not been engaged and wi holding/obtaining an unexpired	vide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.	No separate sl
discreditable act? *If yes, prov Since your last renewal, have you permit disciplined, denied, surr ELECTION TO BECOME EXEM Read all statements and sign below. 1. I am not required to have an act 2. I have not been engaged and wi holding/obtaining an unexpired 3. I will not use the CPA designation	vide a statement of explanation on a separate sheet.	No separate sl sota witho

Date