
2026 CPA Sole Proprietor Firm Permit Renewal Form—INSTRUCTIONS

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PRIVATE DATA
In accordance with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes §13.04, Subd. 2), the Board is required to inform you of your rights 
as they pertain to private data collected from you on this application for renewal. The data you furnish on the application will be used by the Board to 
assess your qualifications for renewal. 
	 Minnesota Statutes §270C.72, Subd. 4 (2024) requires the Board to provide the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Revenue a list of all 
entities, including name, address, and Minnesota Tax ID number or FEIN, each calendar year for the purpose of identifying entities owing delinquent taxes.
Until licensure is granted, all application data, except name and designated address, are private data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
§13.41, Subd. 2 (2024). All data become public record when licensure is granted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, Subd. 5 (2024). 

The Board will not share your private data with other persons or agencies unless it is required by law.

• Dissolved or merged? You must promptly notify the Board in writing (Minnesota Rules 1105.4100).
• Firm name changing? You must first submit an SP Firm Name Change Request Form found on the

Board website. Only after approval can you renew or practice under the new name.
• Are you really a SOLE PROPRIETOR (SP) Firm? If you registered with the Secretary of State, yours is

instead a CPA firm, regardless of the number of firm owners or employees. You must apply/renew as a
CPA firm.

B O A R D  O F  A C C O U N TA N C Y
85 East 7th Place, Suite 125, St. Paul, MN 55101-2143 

Ph: 651-296-7938 • Email: boa@state.mn.us • Web: boa.state.mn.us

If you have questions regarding your renewal, please call the Board office at 651-296-7938.

2026 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL 

INSTRUCTIONS
ALL firms MUST RENEW by December 31, 2025.

A $50 delinquency fee is required for renewals postmarked after that date. 
This form expires January 2, 2026. After that date, use the 2026 Late Renewal Form. 

Please note: Firm permits cannot be renewed until at least two-thirds of the CPA owners 
(as defined in Minnesota Rule 1105.4000.D) have renewed. 

Complete and return these REQUIRED 
items:

1. Firm Permit Renewal (pages 1 and 2)

2. Firm Peer Review Statement (page 3)

3. Workers’ Compensation Liability Certificate of
Compliance (page 4)

4. Payment of the firm permit renewal fee
• Firms with offices only in Minnesota: $35.00
• Firms with one or more offices in another

state: $68.00

Complete and return the following items 
IF APPLICABLE:

1. Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm
Statement Form (page 5)
Complete a form and include an additional $45.00
fee for each Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner.

2. List of firm locations (see question 3 on page 1)

3. Peer review documents (see MN Rule 1105.5400), if
applicable and if due prior to the date of renewal
and not already submitted to the Board

Send the renewal form and associated documents noted below along with your check or money order 
(US funds, made payable to MN Board of Accountancy) to the address above. 

The Board is unable to accept cash, credit card, or other electronic forms of payment for the renewal fee. 
Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/1105.4100/
https://boa.state.mn.us/Forms/SP_Firm_Name_Change.pdf
https://boa.state.mn.us/faq.html#g-faq
https://mblsportal.sos.state.mn.us/Business/Search
https://boa.state.mn.us/forms.html#renewalforms
https://boa.state.mn.us/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.4000#rule.1105.4000.D
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.5400
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2026 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM 
PERMIT RENEWAL

This form expires January 2, 2026. After that date, use the 2026 Late Renewal Form. 

2. Does your firm have an office in a state other than Minnesota?

B O A R D  O F  A C C O U N TA N C Y
85 East 7th Place, Suite 125, St. Paul, MN 55101-2143 

Ph: 651-296-7938 • Email: boa@state.mn.us • Web: boa.state.mn.us

4. Does your firm hold or has it applied for a permit
in any US jurisdiction other than Minnesota?

5. If you answered “yes” to Question 4, was your permit/
permit application in any of these jurisdictions
revoked, suspended, or denied?
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Payment is by check or money order (US funds, made payable to MN Board of Accountancy). 
The Board is unable to accept cash, credit card, or other electronic forms of payment for the renewal fee. 

Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

(Provide the firm's street address; no PO boxes)

1. FIRM INFORMATION

Firm Name

Managing Partner

Firm Address 
Legal First Name (Legal Last Name) 

City State Zip

Firm Permit #

Main Phone

FEIN/MN Tax ID

Yes — Firm permit renewal fee is $68.00  ($118 for renewal postmarked after December 31, 2025) 

No — Firm permit renewal fee is $35.00  ($85 for renewal postmarked after December 31, 2025)

3. Does your firm have more than one office in Minnesota?

Yes — If yes, attach a list of all the offices, including mailing address and person in charge. No

Yes —List all below or, if 
necessary, attach a list.

No—Skip to 
Question 6.

Yes —Attach a statement 
of explanation. No

https://boa.state.mn.us/


7. Owners Who Are Not CPAs or RAPs
If you listed anyone in Question 6 above who is not a CPA or a RAP but who is a Minnesota resident, complete a
Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement (page 5) and enclose a $45.00 fee for each such owner.

9. DESIGNATION FOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL
Read all statements and sign below.

Signature of Certificate Holder/Owner

Printed Name of Certificate Holder/Owner Date

I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic 
signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

1. I have an active Minnesota CPA certificate for 2026 or am submitting my active CPA
certificate renewal for 2026 with this sole proprietor firm renewal, and the firm has
met all other requirements of Minnesota Rules 1105.4000.D.

2. All attest and compilation services rendered by the firm in this state are under the
charge of a person holding a valid certificate with an active status or a person who
has been granted practice privileges under Minnesota Statutes §326A.14 (2024).

3. The firm has an audit documentation retention and destruction policy that complies
with Minnesota Rules 1105.7850.G (2025).

4. The firm has verified that all owners who are not CPAs or RAPs have completed a
Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement and registered with the Board.

5. All individual employees of the firm who have been granted practice privileges
under Minnesota Statutes §326A.14 (2024), or who hold certificates and reside or
practice in this state and those persons specified in Minnesota Rules 1105.4000.D
(2025), who are responsible for supervising attest or compilation services or who
sign or authorize someone to sign an accountant’s report on financial statements
have met the competency requirements set out in professional standards.

If a statement does not apply to your firm,  
mark “N/A” in the box next to that statement.

q                                                           

8. Non-CPA* owners—resident and nonresident combined—hold, in total, what percentage of:
*Include any RAP owners in this percent.

Voting interest in the firm?  %  	 Financial interest in the firm?	  %

6. List of Sole Proprietor Firm “Owners”
List all owners (see MN Rule 1105.4000.D) at your firm whose principal place of business or
residence is in Minnesota. Do not list employees who are not owners, even if licensed.
Attach a sheet if necessary. Single-owner firms: List that single owner.

Name
MN CPA Certificate or 

RAP Registration #
(if applicable)

Practicing in 
Minnesota?

Yes   No

Yes   No

Yes   No

Yes   No
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.4000#rule.1105.4000.D
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/1105.4000/#rule.1105.4000.D


2026  FIRM PEER REVIEW STATEMENT

2. Indicate the Report Acceptance Body (RAB) you are/will be working with:

3. What 12-month period will be reviewed during your next required peer review?

4. Signature: I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct.
If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this
document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

If you answered “Yes” to any item in question 1 above, complete questions 2-4 below.

Note: Under MN Statute 326A.05 Subd. 8 and MN Rules 1105.4600-5400, your firm is required  
to undergo a peer review with respect to the nonpublic company practice.  

If your firm is not currently participating in a peer review program, please see MN Rule 1105.5100.

Printed Name

Signature

Date

    2025   2026
Statements on Auditing Standards (SAS)

Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS)*

Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE)

Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book)

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

Yes   

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

Printed Name

Signature

Date

If you answered “No” to all items in question 1, sign below, then skip to the next page.
I declare that during the past year my firm did not perform attest or compilation services and does not plan to do so in the coming 
year. If the firm does engage in such practice, I will notify the Minnesota Board of Accountancy within 30 days. Therefore my firm 
is exempt from peer review requirements. I further certify that this information is correct and understand that my deliberate 
misrepresentation may result in disciplinary action against my certificate and/or the firm permit. If signing electronically, I agree that 
my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

* Excludes engagements done under SSARS No. 21, AR-C section 70

1. Did/will your firm do work under the following standards?

AICPA MAPA MNCPA Other (specify):

 /  to  / 
(Beginning Month)	 (Beginning Year)	 (Ending Month)	 (Ending Year)	
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326A.05#stat.326A.05.8
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=1105.4600
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=1105.5100
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2026 WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LIABILITY 
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Firm Name 

Contact Name 

Note: Minnesota Statute 176.182 requires every state and local agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate 
a business or engage in an activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage. If this information is not provided or is falsely stated, it may result in a penalty assessed against the applicant by the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. This information will be collected by the licensing agency and retained in their files.

1. Firm Information

3. Signature:

Address

City

State Zip

I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. If signing electronically,
I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same
manner as if I had signed by hand.

Signature Date

A. I have workers’ compensation liability coverage,
and below is information regarding it:

Insurance Company:

Policy Number:       Dates of Coverage:  

B. I am not required to have workers’ compensation liability coverage because:

The firm has no employees.

I have no employees who are covered by workers’ compensation law. 

I am self-insured and am including a copy of my permit to self-insure with this form.

2. Mark the applicable option (A or B) and provide the requested details.

(Employed spouses, parents, and children are exceptions to coverage requirements.)

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.182
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.041
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License # Profession Disciplinary Action (if any)

3. Signature:
I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct, that I actively participate in
the firm on a full-time basis, and that I agree to comply with the rules adopted by the Minnesota Board of
Accountancy. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution
of  this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

Signature Date

2. List all the Minnesota professional licenses you hold and any disciplinary action taken
against those licenses in the last five years:

2026 MINNESOTA NON-CPA/NON-RAP 
OWNER OF FIRM STATEMENT

 Complete this form and include an additional $45.00 fee 
for each firm owner who is a resident of Minnesota but is not a CPA or RAP. 

Legal
Name

Firm Name

(First)t) (M.I.)       (Suffix)

Former Name 
(if previously used)

Work Phone

Firm Address

City

State Zip

1. Personal Information

I am a resident of Minnesota.

(Provide street address)(Last)
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