

2025 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT LATE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS

ALL firms MUST RENEW by December 31, 2024

A \$50 delinquency fee is required for each year a license is expired (incorporated into Fee Chart totals).

Please note: The firm's permit cannot be renewed unless its CPA owners have renewed as required by <u>Minnesota Rules 1105.4000.D</u>.

- Dissolved or merged? You must promptly notify the Board in writing (Minnesota Rules 1105.4100).
- Firm name changing? You must FIRST submit an <u>SP Firm Name Change Request Form</u> found on the Board website. Only after approval can you renew/practice under the new name.
- <u>Are you really a SOLE PROPRIETOR (SP) Firm?</u> If you registered with the <u>Secretary of State</u>, yours is instead a CPA firm, regardless of the number of firm owners or employees. You **must** apply/renew as a <u>CPA firm</u>.

Send the renewal form and associated documents noted below with your check (payable to **Board of Accountancy**) to the address above. **No cash, credit card, or bill pay. Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.**

Complete and return these REQUIRED items:

- 1. Firm Permit Renewal (pages <u>1</u> and <u>2</u>)
- 2. Firm Peer Review Statement (page 3)
- 3. Workers' Compensation Liability Certificate of Compliance (page 4)
- 4. Payment of the firm permit renewal fee (see chart at right)

Complete and submit the following items IF APPLICABLE:

- Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement Form (page <u>5</u>) Complete a form and include \$45.00 fee for each Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner.
- 2. List of firm locations (see question 3 on page 1)
- 3. Peer review documents (see <u>MN Rule 1105.5400</u>), if due prior to the date of renewal and not already submitted to the Board

Permit Fee Chart

Pick applicable year and office location type. Do **NOT** combine columns or rows. Only one fee amount applies.

| IF THE FIRM PERMIT EXPIRED | RENEWAL FEE* IF POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN 12/31/2025 | | |
|----------------------------------|---|------------------|--|
| | MN Office | Non-MN Office | |
| 12/31/2024 | \$85* | \$118* | |
| 12/31/2023 | \$135* | \$168* | |
| 12/31/2022 or prior | Complete a new initial permit application. | | |

* Plus \$45 per Minnesota Non-CPA/Non-RAP owner, if applicable.

If you have questions regarding your renewal, please call the Board office at 651-296-7938.

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PRIVATE DATA

In accordance with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes §13.04, Subd. 2), the Board is required to inform you of your rights as they pertain to private data collected from you on this application for renewal. The data you furnish on the application will be used by the Board to assess your qualifications for renewal.

Minnesota Statutes §270C.72, Subd. 4 (2022) requires the Board to provide the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Revenue a list of all entities, including name, address, and Minnesota Tax ID number or FEIN, each calendar year for the purpose of identifying entities owing delinquent taxes. Until licensure is granted, all application data, except name and designated address, are private data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, Subd. 2 (2022). All data become public record when licensure is granted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.41, Subd. 5 (2022). The Board will not share your private data with other persons or agencies unless it is required by law.



2025 CPA SOLE PROPRIETOR FIRM PERMIT LATE RENEWAL

Payment is by check. No cash, credit card, or bill pay. Renewals received without payment ENCLOSED will be returned.

1. FIRM INFORMATION

| Firm 1 | Name | | Firm Permit # |
|--------|---|--|---|
| Mana | ging Partner | (Last) | Jain Phone |
| | ddress | | (Leave blank if not applicable) |
| City _ | | State | Zip |
| 2. | - | ce in a state other than Minn | |
| | No - Use "MN Office" colum instruction page chart to de | | on-MN Office" column on age chart to determine fee. |
| | Fee due: \$ | | |
| 3. | Does your firm have more t | than one office in Minnesota | ? No Yes |
| | If yes, attach a sheet listing the ad | dresses for all offices and the persor | n in charge at each. |
| 4. | Does your firm hold or has i in any US jurisdiction other | | Io—Skip to Yes—List all below or, if Question 6. necessary, attach a list . |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |

5. If you answered "yes" to Question 4, was your permit/ permit application in any of these states revoked, suspended, or denied?

6. List of Sole Proprietor Firm "Owners"

List all owners (see <u>MN Rule 1105.4000.D</u>) at your firm whose principal place of business or residence is in Minnesota. Do not list employees who are **not** owners, even if licensed. Attach a sheet if necessary. Single-owner firms: List that single owner.

| Name | MN CPA Certificate or RAP Registration # (if applicable) | Practicing in Minnesota? | |
|------|--|-----------------------------|--|
| | | Yes No Yes No | |
| | | Yes No | |

7. Owners Who Are Not CPAs or RAPs

If you listed anyone in Question 6 above who is **not a CPA or a RAP** but **who is a Minnesota resident**, complete a <u>Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement</u> (page <u>5</u>) and enclose a \$45.00 fee for **each** such owner.

8. Non-CPA* owners—resident and nonresident combined—hold, in total, what percentage of: *Include any RAP owners in this percent.

Voting interest in the firm? ______% Financial interest in the firm? ______%

9. DESIGNATION FOR FIRM PERMIT RENEWAL

Read all statements and sign below.

If a statement does **not** apply to your firm, mark "N/A" in the box next to that statement.

- 1. I have an active Minnesota CPA certificate for 2025 or am submitting my active CPA certificate renewal for 2025 with this sole proprietor firm renewal.
- 2. All attest and compilation services rendered by the firm in this state are under the charge of a person holding a valid certificate with an active status or a person who has been granted practice privileges under Minnesota Statutes §326A.14 (2022).
- 3. The firm has an audit documentation retention and destruction policy that complies with Minnesota Rules 1105.7850.G (2023).
- 4. The firm has verified that all owners who are not CPAs or RAPs have completed a Non-CPA/Non-RAP Owner of Firm Statement and registered with the Board.
- 5. All individual employees of the firm who have been granted practice privileges under Minnesota Statutes §326A.14 (2022), or who hold certificates and reside or practice in this state and those persons specified in Minnesota Rules 1105.4000.D (2023), who are responsible for supervising attest or compilation services or who sign or authorize someone to sign an accountant's report on financial statements have met the competency requirements set out in professional standards.

| I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand. | | |
|--|------|--|
| Signature of Certificate Holder/Owner | | |
| Printed Name of Certificate Holder/Owner | Date | |
| | | |

2025 FIRM PEER REVIEW STATEMENT

| 1. | Did/will your firm do work under the following standards? | Since las | t renewal | In 2025 | 1 |
|----|---|-----------|-----------|---------|----|
| | Statements on Auditing Standards (SAS) | Yes | No | Yes | No |
| | Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS)* | Yes | No | Yes | No |
| | Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE) | Yes | No | Yes | No |
| | Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book) | Yes | No | Yes | |
| | | | | | |

* Excludes engagements done under SSARS No. 21, AR-C section 70

If you answered "No" to all items in question 1, sign below, then skip to the next page. I declare that during the past year my firm did not perform attest or compilation services and does not plan to do so in the coming year. If the firm does engage in such practice, I will notify the Minnesota Board of Accountancy within 30 days. Therefore my firm is exempt from peer review requirements. I further certify that this information is correct and understand that my deliberate misrepresentation may result in disciplinary action against my certificate and/or the firm permit. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand. Signature Date

| | If you answered "Yes" to any item in question 1 above, complete questions 2-4 below. |
|----|--|
| | Note: Under <u>MN Statute 326A.05 Subd. 8</u> and <u>MN Rules 1105.4600-5400</u> , your firm is required to undergo a peer review with respect to the nonpublic company practice. If your firm is not currently participating in a peer review program, please see <u>MN Rule 1105.5100</u> . |
| 2. | Indicate the Report Acceptance Body (RAB) you are/will be working with: AICPA MAPA MNCPA Other (specify): |
| 3. | What 12-month period will be reviewed during your next required peer review? |
| 4. | Signature: I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand. |
| | Signature |
| | Printed Name Date |
| | |

2025 WORKERS' COMPENSATION LIABILITY CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

| 1. | Firm Inform | mation | | |
|----|-------------|--|--|-----|
| | | Firm Name | | |
| | | Contact Name | | |
| | | Address | | |
| | | City | | |
| | | State | Zip | |
| | | | | |
| 2. | Mark the a | pplicable option (A or B) and | d provide the requested details. | |
| | A. | l have workers' compensation and below is information reg | | |
| | | Insurance Company: | | |
| | | Policy Number: | Dates of Coverage: | |
| | В. | l am not required to have wo | kers' compensation liability coverage because: | |
| | | The firm has no employees | j. | |
| | | | are covered by workers' compensation law. I children are <u>exceptions</u> to coverage requirements.) | |
| | | | cluding a copy of my permit to self-insure with this fo | rm. |
| | | | | |

3. Signature:

I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

Signature

Date

Note: <u>Minnesota Statute 176.182</u> requires every state and local agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or engage in an activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers' compensation insurance coverage. If this information is not provided or is falsely stated, it may result in a penalty assessed against the applicant by the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. This information will be collected by the licensing agency and retained in their files.

2025 MINNESOTA NON-CPA/NON-RAP OWNER OF FIRM STATEMENT

Complete if you are not a CPA or RAP but **are** a <u>firm owner</u> **who is a resident of Minnesota** (regardless of the firm's location[s]) and submit **\$45.00 fee**.

1. Personal Information

| | I am a reside | nt of Minnesota. | | Firm Name |
|---------------|---------------|------------------|----------|-------------------------------------|
| Legal Name | (First) | (M.I.) (Last) | (Suffix) | Address (Provide street address) |
| Forme | r Name | | (Sullix) | City |
| Work I | Phone | | | , State Zip |

2. List all the Minnesota professional licenses you hold and any disciplinary action taken against those licenses in the last five years:

| License # | Profession | Disciplinary Action (if any) |
|-----------|------------|------------------------------|
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |

3. Signature:

I declare that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct, that I actively participate in the firm on a full-time basis, and that I agree to comply with the rules adopted by the Minnesota Board of Accountancy. If signing electronically, I agree that my electronic signature shall constitute the execution of this document in exactly the same manner as if I had signed by hand.

Signature

Date