Frequently Asked Questions
Important information regarding changes in the certificate renewal process and the CPE reporting rules:
***Three year renewal/CPE reporting schedule***
Beginning with certificate renewal applications for calendar year 2010, the board shall renew each certificate as follows:
(1) For licensees whose last name begins with the letters:
(a) A through H, certificates shall be renewed for a three-year period (Cycle A);
(b) I through P, certificates shall be renewed for a two-year period (Cycle B); and
(c) Q through Z, certificates shall be renewed for a one-year period (Cycle C); and
(2) Renewals of those certificates, after the expiration of the renewals periods specified in subitem (1), shall thereafter follow a three-year cycle. For more information, please see Minnesota Rule 1105.2550.
Please note that CPA firms, Sole Proprietor firms, RAP firms and Registered Accounting Practitioners will continue to renew on an annual basis.
Beginning in calendar year 2011, licensees holding an active certificate on June 30 shall report to the board by July 31 of each year the continuing professional education hours earned during the one- and three-year CPE period ended on June 30. The report shall be made as required by the board and no report under this item shall be required of a licensee in the final year of the renewal cycle specified in part 1105.2550. For more information, please see Minnesota Rule 1105.3200.
The Board has had many questions regarding the new CPE reporting rules and would like to provide clarification:
Beginning in 2011 (and going forward) if you:
- Are required to renew your certificate in December, you will report your CPE by December 31st in connection with your renewal.
- If you are not required to renew your certificate in December, you will report your CPE by July 31st.
- CPE remains on a rolling three-year basis, and the Board will continue to review the last three years of CPE whether you are required to report by December 31st or July 31st.
- CPE remains on a fiscal year basis – July 1st to June 30th – hours must be completed by June 30th of each year.
What is the reporting period for Continuing Professional Education?
- CPE credits are completed on a fiscal year basis (July 1 to June 30), but are reported annually by December 31 when you renew your individual CPA certificate. CPE reporting will change in 2011; see the CPE reporting update above.
When are my CPE reporting form and supporting documentation due?
- Only when you have been selected in a random audit sample. Your renewal has an affidavit of compliance on it and only selected persons need to report. Full instructions are mailed at the time of selection. Also see CPE.
What are the late fees if I don't complete my CPE on time?
A licensee not in compliance with the CPE requirements on June 30th of each year will be assessed a late processing fee of $50 for the first month, or partial month, of noncompliance and $25 per month, or partial month, of noncompliance thereafter until the date the licensee is in compliance and provides documentation of compliance in writing to the board."
Remember - If you are not in compliance with the CPE requirements by June 30th and you need to use "carryback" hours from the subsequent fiscal year, the CPE non-compliance fees continue to accrue until the date you notify the Board in writing, not the date you complete the coursework. (You are required to submit certificates of completion for carryback hours along with payment of the CPE non-compliance fees.)
How do I activate an inactive or exempt certificate?
- To activate an inactive certifcate, you must submit 120 hours of qualifying CPE completed during the three-year period preceding application for an active certificate.
- To activate an exempt certificate, you shall submit evidence of completion of 50 hours of qualifying CPE per year of exemption, up to a maximum of 120 hours, to be taken within 12 months prior to renewal application. (Please note that you may not go from the exempt to the inactive status.)
- You must submit the CPE hours on the Board's CPE reporting form and include the appropriate fee. A certificate may be activated at any time during the year, upon completion of the required CPE hours.
What are the requirements to sit for the Uniform CPA exam and where do I get an application?
How often is the CPA exam held and what are the deadlines for application?
The Examination is offered 5 (and sometimes 6) days per week during two months of every quarter. (These periods are known as "testing windows.") Testing is available in January & February; April & May; July & August; and October & November. Testing is NOT available in: March, June, September, and December.
When and how do I apply for a certificate?
- After passing the exam and fulfilling the experience requirements, submit an application to the Board office. Forms are mailed with passing grade notices and are available on this website under credentialing (licensing).
What are the work experience requirements?
- See the section under credentialing (licensing) for experience requirements.
Does Minnesota reciprocate certificates from other states?
- Yes. Applications are available at this website and from the Board office. However, certain experience, education and examination requirements must be met. See Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1105A.
Once I have submitted my application, what is the duration of the credentialing (licensing) process?
- Applications are reviewed at each Board meeting (see schedule for dates). If you are approved, you will receive your certificate and information about maintaining your certificate approximately two weeks after the respective Board meeting.
How long is the certificate valid and how do I renew?
- Currently, all certificates expire on December 31 of each year. Notification will also be sent via U.S. mail to the last address of record in the Board office. It is important to notify the Board office immediately when you change your address so that the information can be mailed to you at the correct address. Any address changes must be reported to the Board in writing within 60 days of occurrence. Click here for an address change form.
- The certificate renewal process will change in 2010; please see the Renewal update at the top of this page.
My CPA has overcharged me; what do I do?
- The Board of Accountancy has no jurisdiction over fee disputes. You should contact the Better Business Bureau, your county conciliation (small claims) court or legal counsel.
How do I file a complaint against my accountant?
- The Board of Accountancy has jurisdiction over CPAs and RAPs. If your accountant is licensed, click here for a complaint form. If your accountant is not a CPA (unless they are performing unaudited financials or unaudited schedules), you should contact the Attorney General's Office, the Better Business Bureau or an attorney.
Back to top